In collaboration with Ace Cycles, Support SA Talent launched last week its Virtual Road Cycling Series which also provides a platform to fundraise, for the recently launched Phil Liggett Foundation to Support SA Talent.

The Series, presented by Doolhof Wines and Karan Beef, is planned to run for 10 weeks and is a new category in the Support SA Talent Road Cycling Series (on hold due to Covid-19 event cancellations and postponements). The events are live streamed each week and commentary is provided by Support SA Talent Brand Ambassador, Myles Van Musschenbroek and Jamie Taylor from Office Guru U23 Racing.


The first event had over 120 South African riders entered onto the flat and relatively easy route but, the racing was full gas from the stat and far from easy. The group was whittled down quite quickly and a select group of roughly 30 riders from the A Category, battled it out in the sprint to the line and only with only 78 completing the race.

In the Men’s A Category, Tyronne White (Elite) from the Drive Train Team, edged out second year local Junior Jonathan Bouwer (Kinetic Pro Cycling Team) into 2nd place followed by Juniors – Dillon Geary from Cycling Box Team (3rd place) and Travis Stedman from Team SSS (4th Place), finishing off the Top 5 positions was VA rider Theuns Van der Bank from Hartlief Deli Powerbar Team (5th). In the Ladies A Category, a super-fast race too with Elite rider Lauren Coleman taking the win and holding off Cycle Nation’s Zanri Rossouw (2nd) and U23 Valley Electrical Titan Racing’s Tiffany Keep (3rd), Stacey Paul (4th) and Jo van de Winkel (5th).


The Men’s B Category was won by VB Steven Holm in a time of 45:13. Steve was joined on the podium by VB Nick Dickens of Ace Cycles and Sheridan Morais of NuPower Ninjas – well done gentlemen. The Women’s B Category was won by the young Junior Chloe Bateson (Steel & Pipes), followed by Nicola Mattheus (2nd) and Mandy Akom rounded off the podium in 3rd place.


The race Bonus Points were awarded to Travis Stedman (SSS) in the A Men’s Category – who had the highest w/kg of 5,2 on the first page of results. Congratulations to Travis, a remarkable achievement for such a young rider. Joining him with Bonus Points in the B Category is Jaco Fouche (Rothwell Risksolve Lesedi) who also had a great performance. Unfortunately, there were not enough ladies in this first event to qualify for any Bonus Points.

The Men’s A Category Team classification was won by Cape-based, Kinetic Pro Cycling followed by Team SSS and tie 3rd place OfficeGuru u23 Racing & Hartlief-Deli Powerbar. In the Men’s B Category Team classification Albion Wheelers took the top step, followed by NuPower Ninjas and Ace Cycles.

A big thank you to everyone once again. Let’s keep the donations coming, by promoting the Phil Liggett Foundation to your friends and family and supporters.


  • South African road cyclists can enter a Team or as an Individual on Zwift, with two separate racing categories: “A” Category (4w/Kg or more); and, “B” Category (3,2w/Kg – 3,9w/Kg). Points are awarded for the Top 10 positions in both the Men (All Men – any age) and Women’s (All Women – any age), Men’s Team and Women’s Team categories and, Bonus Points are allocated (Men A + B, Woman A + B) by the commentary team for the rider who has the biggest power numbers on Zwift power for that specific event. This will be decided on by MainTrain coach, Devon Main and commentary team. This participant may not finish in the Top 3 placings of the event.
  • Participants need an indoor trainer (smart or power meter), Zwift Membership and a Zwift Power Registration, in order to qualify for official results, which will be published once the Zwift Power results are released.  No “weight doping” or Tron Bikes allowed, but banter is welcomed.
  • Entry is free to participate but, we encourage riders to make a donation of R200 or more to the Phil Liggett Foundation, and help to South Africa’s talented athletes. The Foundation provides R100 of each donation (to a maximum of R50 000) into a prize purse for the Series, as well as provide an entry to win a VIP Invitation to a special Doolhof Wines Tasting experience, that Phil will be hosting later in the year. Only winners that have made the donation prior to their first event, are eligible for their share of the pool and feature on the leader boards.
  • If you would like to get involved as a sponsor or contributor to the Foundation please get in touch on



If you are new to the Series, remember to let know you are joining.